cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R7 vs R5. Balancing low light performance and reach.

batmn319
Contributor

I've been shooting with the R7 and RF100-500L for a couple of months and find it to be a potent combination for birds/wildlife in many situations. Not surprisingly, the low light sensitivity of the APS-C sensor is limiting at times...

I'm a knowledgeable novice and am interested in insight/perspective/resources on how to think about sensor sensitivity, lens speed, and resolution. I realize those may not all fit into the same category, but here's what I'm trying to solve for - 

1. Can I overcome the R7's low-light performance with a faster lens (like an EF 500 F4 mkii)? Or would I have better results with an R5 and my current RF100-500L. 

2. I've read that the R7's 33mp crop sensor is the equivalent of 79mp full frame (or something crazy like that). If I were to swap the R7 for an R5 can I make up for the loss of effective focal length with cropping and still maintain IQ for large prints? 

3. Or should I wait for an R5 mk ii with the rumored higher res senor....?

Thanks so much. Hope these aren't super redundant questions, but I imagine they might be. I did some searching and came up empty. 

4 REPLIES 4

rs-eos
Elite

Better low-light performance comes from:

• Larger individual sensor sites.  This is why full-frame sensors tend to do much better since there's more physical real-estate to work with.  However, as resolution increases, low-light performance will decrease (since sensor sites are now smaller).
  • Better/newer sensor tech.
  • Lenses with wide apertures.  Though one con here is that sometimes working with shallower depth-of-field can be challenging.  Or, not desired.

Given that both the R7 and R5 are fairly new, the second point is covered pretty well.  The first and third will amount to balancing tradeoffs.