cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5 sharpness setting in picture styles

MisterWizard
Contributor

Honest, I've looked in both the printed manual and the pdf version, and I can't find the answer.

In the picture styles settings for the user defined styles, there is a setting for "sharpness" but it doesn't allow any changes.  Am I missing something, and if it's not to be modified then why even put it in the settings menu?

I'm new to this camera, but come from years of using the 1D series bodys so I do know my way around most of the menus. 

And seriously, if I've missed it, please point me to the page or paragragh or archived scroll that it's explained in.

Thanks for listening!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

As kvbarkley stated, you must select one of the "Sharpness" parameters.

Then Press SET to change the selected parameter.

Then Press SET again to store the new value.

Select parameter.png

Adjust value.png

"The attached image is an example (taken from an online tutorial) of the detail set screen with the sharpness parameter simply not adjustable."

Sometimes it's better to read the step-by-step directions in the manual rather than a possibly simplified "online tutorial" 😋

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum

A lot would depend on which lenses are attached to the camera, the mode you are set to and whether the lens is set to MF or AF as well as the settings for the camera proper.  Have you had this situation with different lenses?

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris