cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5 focus about 1/5 of the time

katmod
Apprentice

I am having focus isues with my R5 since I got it in August of 2021. I have sent it back to Canon twice and they have sent it back saying there is nothing wrong with the camera or lens and the images I sent are in focus. They are not. Only about 1 in 5 images is really sharp. I have tried different AF modes and different lenses. I have the 5D MK3 and and the 6D and both take much sharper images than the R5. I have been shooting Canon since I went digital with the 20D. I've been a full time photographer for about 10 years and I cannot use this camera. Has anyone had this problem? I don't know how to get this fixed and I can't use images that aren't sharp. I am hoping someone else has been through this and knows what the issue is.

5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

You'll need to post examples.   Along with what lens or lenses you are using.

Have you used any tools (e.g. DPP software) to verify where the focus points of the images were.  Perhaps they may be in front or behind a bit of where you thought they were at?

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

jaewoosong
Rising Star
Rising Star