cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about the T7

dbooher46
Apprentice

Hello, I'm new to canon cameras and have a few questions about this specific model as it have it arriving from amazon today. 

I plan to use it mostly for creating YouTube videos (I know its not the best camera for this but its the best i could afford ATM) but there are a few things i have been unable to find details online.

• Is there a limit on the size of the SD card I can use?
  • I Saw a YouTube video of someone turning off Auto Focus to "fake" clean HDMI. Is there any sort of Quality difference if I go this way with it?
  • The Reason I want to use clean HDMI to record is the 30/12 minute limit. I know the 12 minute limit is from the 4GB limitation of Fat. But does this camera support eXFat and if so would this eliminate the 12 minute limit?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

6 REPLIES 6

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Download the manual from the Canon support site, it can answer all these questions.

The camera can use SDXC cards, so you can use the largest one of those you can find.

The 4GB limit applies to the T7.

There is no quality difference between AF and MF, it just does not overlay the focus box.

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Yes, it is always a good idea to download the user manual before laying down a large sum of money on a purchase.  I am not sure what type of package you ordered from Amazon, but the ones that include a LOT of accessories are not always the best bundle to buy.

While, the user manual may indicate the camera can use SDXC cards, I do not recommend using them in this camera body.  Hopefully, they have worked out some of the bugs from its predecessors, which did not work well with large capacity cards.  Stick to Full Size SD cards, 32 GB max.