cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proper Settings

katwoman85
Contributor

Hi All.  I am just a beginner still reading my camera manual online and everything.  For some reason, I still struggle with getting the settings correct for taking photos at night.  I have an EOS Rebel T100.  What are the proper settings for getting pictures to come out clear at night?  I tried numerous things and still cannot get it right.  Hope someone with this camera that takes photos at night can give me some feedback as to the proper settings.  Thanks!!!

23 REPLIES 23

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

There won't be any single set of settings to cover taking images; even images at night.

Thus, we'll first need to know what it is that you are taking images of.

As an example, is your subject stationary?  If so, it would probably make the most sense to have a tripod and use a slow shutter speed.  A slow shutter would allow you to reduce the ISO to a lowest-possible value so as to reduce noice.

But no matter what your subject/conditions are, do study up on the exposure triangle.  i.e. how aperture, shutter speed and ISO are all connected.   As you adjust one of those values, you'll have to also adjust at least one of the other two to compensate.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Hope someone with this camera that takes photos at night ..."

All camera equipment has limitations.  You may have exceeded what can be done with yours. Without seeing exactly what you are shooting no one can give you exact settings.

As to learning the exposure triangle, which is a good idea, it can become useless in extreme conditions like nighttime shots. This is where trial and error or bracketing becomes useful.  This is where you shoot the same scene with multiple settings to determine which one will satisfy the "exposure triangle" so to speak. Using a tripod will be helpful here.