cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need recommendations for beginner camera and lens for bird photography

keenanbare
Apprentice

I'm totally new to photography and want to get a camera that I can use mostly for bird photography and for taking pictures during duck hunting of me, my dad, the birds we harvest, pictures of that sort. I may also dabble in some short video and casual pictures with friends, but would mostly be using the camera for bird photography and taking pictures during hunting.

I just recently purchased the Canon M50 Mark II, but am thinking about returning it. I have recently read some forums that it may not work well with telephoto lenses due to it's small/fragile size and build. Also, it seems that Canon is going away from the EF-M mount and towards the RF mount. I've read some forums that have recommended the R10 and R7, and that's currently what I have my eye on. I want something that I can grow into and with.

My price range is flexible, but would say that the upper limit is $2,000 (camera and lens included). Would be willing to go a bit higher if it's worth it.

58 REPLIES 58

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

There is no doubt the M50 series works the reason you don't recommend it to a new buyer is the M series is a dead end. It is done as is the DSLR. It never was a serious contender It is/was a niche model.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Yet, the M50 offers benefits that might never be repeated with an RF mount camera. (Though those benefits aren't a big factor in the present case.)

Kevin Rahe
EOS M50 Mark II

EOS M/ EF-M is a dead lineup of cameras. In fact some EF-M lenses now have an RF-S (RF Mount lens with an APS-C image circle) equivalent. Which has signaled the end of EOS M/ EF-M. Why make 2 different incompatible mirrorless APS-C camera mounts. When they can use 1 mount for both APS-C & Full Frame. This is why the EOS M line up is dead.

-Demetrius
Bodies: EOS 5D Mark IV