Need help picking a camera

jessmc0125
Contributor

Hello,

I’m very new to photography and trying to pick a camera. I mainly want to shoot portraits. I thought I wanted Mirrorless and now I am unsure. Any help or guidance would be great. 

Thank you!

10 REPLIES 10

stevet1
Authority
Authority

jessmc0125,

What are your thoughts on the matter?

Steve Thomas

I’m leaning toward mirrorless I’m just unsure on which one to go with. 

Hi Jess, and welcome to the forum:
First and foremost: what is your budget in $ terms?  We can spend a lot of money but it's poor advice if you can't afford it.
Second, what media do you intend to produce?  This has an impact on sensor size.  For a start, I would stay away from crop sensors, stick with full-frame sensors such as one of the R5 and R6 variants.  They offer much better dynamic range and better ISO performance to give you less noise and better colour rendition.  That said the R6 variants have a bit less than half the MP size of the R5 models.  This has an impact on output.  The R6 units will work fine for social media, digital display and moderate size prints - up to 11x17".   If you intend to go significantly above that, then you would need to look at the R5 units - but that comes at a significant price.

Also, the body is not the only thing that has a significant impact on your image.  The lenses you use have an arguably greater effect and often cost more than the body - they certainly represent a much longer-term investment.

Again, this is where budget is a major factor.  Some of the professional-grade L series lenses, while fabulous are also a fabulous price.

So, if you can come back with a $ amount for total expenditure that would be really helpful, plus your intent - is this as a hobby, part-time work or fully professional intent?  As a hobby, you are more likely to be price restricted but the demands on quality will be less too.  For professional work expect to invest more - but it is a business expense.