cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens (Camera??) Issue

KerrLess
Contributor

I recently bought a Rebel t6. The lense it came with works perfectly fine. I quickly decided I wanted a new lens and it just got here today. I'm a poor college student, so I headed to Ebay to find a nice, used one. I picked up a 55-250 lens and it arrived today. I knew that it would need a professonal cleaning, but didn't expect it to NOT work. I know I took a risk by buying used, but it was garenteed that it worked. I obviously can send it back but wanted to see if anyone had any ideas on how to fix it!

The lens attaches nicely with no issue. I go to try and take a picture and it will not take one in either MF or AF. Sometimes the flash will pop open and then spazz a little and say busy. My other lens DOES work and takes pictures. I don't even know where to start in figuring it out. I've tried looking around on Google for ideas but I've got nothing. Let me know if you have any thoughts/need more information!!

Thanks!!

Kerr

17 REPLIES 17

ScottyP
Authority

Try it outdoors in sunlight. Sounds like it is having difficulty finding enough light or contrast to focus. 

Also watch you are not inside the lens's minimum focus distance. Focus on something a couple dozen feet away. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

I just went outside and nothing different. I can hold the button down all the way and nothing happens.

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

At 55mm it should work almost exactly like your other one, assuming it is the 18-55.