cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is a used Canon 60D with 20K shutter count and 18-135 lens worth buying for USD 290?

CairoKolton
Apprentice

Hello. Im a beginner photographer and don't really have a specific style of photography, hence the 18-135mm, which I think will be a good choice to explore a wide style of photography.

But is the the 60D is a good choice for 2021? I would ideally like to keep this long term, and so want something with decent quality that I can grow into. I was looking at the 700D before this, but cannot find a good listing for my tight student budget.

Thanks guys

4 REPLIES 4

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Keh Camera is listinga 60D in Excellent condition at $350 w/o lens, so $290 w/lens seems like a good price if the camera is in quality condition.

They list the T5i (US version of 700D) for similar price.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

This is a hard question to answer.  I'll also start by saying I am not a fan of old/used gear.  

Do I think buying an 11yr old camera in 2021 is a good investment, no.

Shutter count is less important if the camera was properly cared for.  How does the seller know the count?  Is this a geusstimate, or did they install something to the camera's firmware (example magic latern) to read it?

Conversely, any camera is better than no camera at all.

You haven't provided an actual budget or your location.  If you are in Egypt I'm sure pickings are slim.  You'll have to decide if aspiring to buy and keep something over a decade old for the long term is a good investment.  

Keep one last thing in mind.  If anything goes wrong with it, you won't be able to get it serviced.  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA