cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Photographing objects is much harder than humans!

SunshineReborn
Apprentice

I am a reborn doll artist, I create likelike reborn art dolls. This is my career and I make a pretty good salary doing it. 5 years in and I am still struggling to take the best photos of my work. Pictures are what sells my work so I need the sharpest most natural photos. The coloring needs to be true to what my eyes see in person. I am shooting with a Canon rebel T5. I have a 18-55mm lens and a 75-300mm. I need help finding the right settings. Flash creates shine that is not ideal for what I am photographing. In colder months when the natural light isn't great I find that I am struggling. These 2 photos were taken at the same time of day, same location. top photo in manual with the setting the same as the below photo(snowman)1/125 shutter--- F4.5--- ISO set to Auto---No flash. The bottom photo was taken in Portrait mode, flash came up automatically, I enjoy this photo more, I find it truer in color to real life with out being overly bright. My issue with shooting in Portrait mode is that you cannot choose when the flash is used or not as it doesn't let you choose. Does anyone know what the setting are in "portrait mode"? 

M.jpgThis picture was taken in natural light outside around 3pm. I was in manual mode 1/125 shutter--- F4.5--- ISO set to Auto---No flash. I like how this one turned out but I cannot always get the same quality. 

IMG_5163a.jpg

3 REPLIES 3

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

The first thing I see is that color balance could be way better.  Current images look quite cold (blue).

Did you capture your images in RAW?  If so, the color temperature can be adjusted later (e.g. in Adobe Lightroom).