cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hard Decision on 7D mk ii or 80D

xzebra
Contributor

I'm looking for some advice whcih has been discussed many times before!

I have been using a Canon 50D for several years and am wanting to upgrade. 

I am looking primary at the 7d mk ii or the 80d. I cannot afford much more. I do not have one type of photography I like to do/specialize in, but more less a jack of all trades. I enjoy birding, portraits of my children, wildlife if I have time, landscapes and nightscapes. I have a daughter that plays girls volleyball (indoors) My son typically does outdoor sports.

I know that the 7d mk ii is fast and has better focusing, however the 80d has better dynamic range with lower noise at higher ISO. Thus is the reason I am so torn between and it is a lot of money for me. I know some of you may have had  your hands-on both with extensive use so I am asking for your help on this.

Other thoughts - I like the layout of the 7d mk ii better and careless about video. The more durable design reminds me of my 50d which I love, but not a deal breaker.

My other main concern is the age of the 7d mk ii, which is basically at the end of the life cycle. I cannot seem to find many reviews on how it stacks up again current cameras much and do not want to purchase $1500 worth of out dated material.

My current Lenses are:
Canon 50mm 1.4
Tamron 28-75mm XR Di
Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro
Canon 100-400mm L

Appreciate all of you assistance,

Many thanks - Kevin

2 REPLIES 2

Is there really that much difference between the layouts of the two cameras? I thought most Canon DSLRs (except the 1 series) were nearly identical in that respect. My wife once got my 5D3 confused with her 7D2 and used it for an hour or so without noticing. I can't vouch that an 80D is that similar because I've never even seen one. But it would surprise me a bit if it weren't.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

@RobertTheFat wrote: