cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Eos T5i Auto Focus problems

paulo99
Apprentice

Hi, I have this brand new camera T5i and I haven't used it for over a week- however when I turned the camera on I noticed that the lens didn't auto rotate. Usually when I turn it on or off the lens tends to do it's all little thing...but nothing. I took some pics and the picture get focused howeve the lens didn't make that usual noise where it turns to one side and the other. I checked the buttons on the lens and are on AF and Stabiliar in ON. I though maybe the problem was with the lens, so I changed it to my other one and the same thing. It's like no power is being powered to the lens. It's not making any noise or rotating at all. I cleaned the little golden chips on the lens and the camera with a dry clothes- but no luck.

Can somone let me know if there is a setting that I may have touched as I'm new to this camera? Can you tell me if there is any way I can reset it to factory settings? Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

I don't know if this will answer your question, but if you have an STM lens it won't do anything unless you press the shutter button. The lens is all "fly by wire" and it doesn't get a signal until the shutter button is depressed at least half way. See page 346 of manual.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

@jrhoffman75 wrote:

I don't know if this will answer your question, but if you have an STM lens it won't do anything unless you press the shutter button. The lens is all "fly by wire" and it doesn't get a signal until the shutter button is depressed at least half way. See page 346 of manual.

Would it behave the other way if the camera were in "AI Servo" autofocus mode?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA