cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7i locking up using EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS III USM in TV and AV mode

HawkMom6
Contributor

HELP!!  I recently purchased the above mentioned lens (70-200 f/2.8L III).  I have the EOS Rebel T7i camera.  I am an amateur sport's photographer, doing my kids games, etc.  I am the team photographer, and on the sideline for high school and youth football games and finally bit the bullet and upgraded to this awesome lens.  Unfortunately, it is locking up on my in TV mode and then with AV mode also.  I switched to sport mode and it did not lock up once.  Due to the time (evening/night), I have learned to use TV mode to get any decent pictures.  So with my new lens, I started out the same way, using TV mode, 1/1000 shutter speed, and ISO 100 or 200.  (it was lighter at the beginning of the game).  But, my camera starting locking up and nothing but taking the battery out would fix it.  I played with the settings in TV and it kept doing it.  I switched to AV mode and adjusted the settings to get good quality pics and it locked up after only a few pictures.  

I am not the most knowledgeable about the new lens as its brand new, but I have never had my camera lock up like this.  

Anyone else have this problem??  Suggestions to fix this??  Is it my camera or just some settings I need to adjust?  

I appreciate any tips, suggestions, and help!  Thank you! 

23 REPLIES 23

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Try clearing all the settings of your camera.  See page 216 of the User Manual.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Okay thanks!  I will try that!  

Any advice on settings for evening/night football games with this camera and .lens?