cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7 Spots on sensor

smld6
Apprentice

Has anyone had problems with oil spots from the mirror actuation mechanism?  I am not very tech savvy (this is a school camera--2 years old) and I have had two knowledgeable photographers look at it and this is what they are saying the spots are from.  This is a Canon EOS Rebel T7.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Are the spots on the mirror itself, or on the sensor?

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

SamanthaW

Hi!

To have a better understanding of your issue, please let everyone know your camera model.

If this is a time-sensitive matter, please reach out to our support team directly at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666).

Thanks! 

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Are the spots on the mirror itself, or on the sensor?

I was told by the person that looked at it that the spots are on the sensor.

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

That was a Nikon problem, not a Canon problem.

In any case, you can get dust on the sensor on any camera.

Check your manual to see if you can add "dust delete data", you can use that procedure in regular mode to take images of the dust.

FloridaDrafter
Authority
Authority

@smld6 wrote:

Has anyone had problems with oil spots from the mirror actuation mechanism?  I am not very tech savvy (this is a school camera--2 years old) and I have had two knowledgeable photographers look at it and this is what they are saying the spots are from.  This is a Canon EOS Rebel T7.