cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7 How to take photos at 300 dpi

Redsed
Apprentice

I am just learning how to take photos of my artwork to post on a marketing site. I am told I have to post a min. 300 DPI photo which means I need to change my settings and photograph all my artwork...again.  Can someone give me a simplified explanation about how to do that. Sorry if this sounds a little crazy but I have put myself in a position to learn every. single. thing. about websites and social media and cameras all at once.  If I can just take the right pictures I will be miles ahead of where I am now. There are plenty of tutorials about what to put the setting on when you start out but not what any of those settings actually mean.  Thank you so much for any information. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

This is what I'm looking at from my marketing company. 

Redsed_0-1694372950111.png

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I agree with Ricky.  They should also define an absolute image size, defined either in pixels or in/mm..  But an overall size specification is independent of a DPI specification.

If you are using a Windows laptop or PC, I suggest downloading Paint Dot Net to adjust the size of JPEG files.  You can upsize or downsize canvas size, image size, and DPI or PPI.  I do not know if this easy to use app has ever been ported to MacOS.

Paint Dot Net is easy to learn image editor.  It is a good introduction to how advanced imaged editors function.  It is far more advanced than MS Paint.  But nowhere near as complex as GIMP or Photoshop.  It is an image editor, not a photo processor.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

This is what "Image Resize" dialog box looks like in Paint Dot Net.

Paint-Dot_Net_-_Image-Size.PNG

Thre is a siimilar dialog box for "Canvas Resize".

johnrmoyer
Mentor
Mentor