cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7 How to take photos at 300 dpi

Redsed
Apprentice

I am just learning how to take photos of my artwork to post on a marketing site. I am told I have to post a min. 300 DPI photo which means I need to change my settings and photograph all my artwork...again.  Can someone give me a simplified explanation about how to do that. Sorry if this sounds a little crazy but I have put myself in a position to learn every. single. thing. about websites and social media and cameras all at once.  If I can just take the right pictures I will be miles ahead of where I am now. There are plenty of tutorials about what to put the setting on when you start out but not what any of those settings actually mean.  Thank you so much for any information. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

This is what I'm looking at from my marketing company. 

Redsed_0-1694372950111.png

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

Anonymous
Not applicable

The DPI is only applicable when printing a photo. It is dependent on the resolution of the photo and the size of the print. To assign a minimum DPI to a photograph file that hasn't been printed yet, is meaningless. Typically, Canon cameras put a 72 DPI rating in out of camera files. It means nothing, as it is the DPI value if you printed the image at full size, which would be huge in size. In your printing software, the DPI value will increase with a smaller print size. The smaller the print, the larger the DPI value. If you have your camera set to its highest resolution, you shouldn't have to worry about the DPI value when taking the photo, it is the printing software settings that affect the DPI setting.

Anonymous
Not applicable