cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R7 Dark borders around background objects

HonzaFnoucek
Apprentice

Hi, I am an amateur wildlife photographer, quite new to the field, I use the R7 body and RF 100-400 lens.

I have been noticing weird dark borders around background objects on some of my photos for a while and I just cannot figure out what they are.

Would someone be able to help? What is it? How is it caused? Can I somehow get rid of it, either in post-processing or at least prevent it from happening again?

On the provided example, what I mean are the dark grey sort of borderlines around the leaves in the background, clearly separating it from the sky behind. Its quite weird that when I look at the photo I somehow cannot seem to notice these lines until I zoom in and then out on the whole picture again.

IMGC9584.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

johnrmoyer
Whiz
Whiz

You did not say what software you are using to view the image or what sort of screen you are viewing it on. Is the camera set to save a raw file? Is the software you are using processing a raw file while you are zooming in and back out and not finished until you have zoomed in and back out? What is your intent for this photo, documentation of a sighting or art?

What you describe sounds to me like more unsharp mask than I usually find pleasing. Too strong unsharp mask is sometimes said to create halos at boundary between light and dark. Is this a possibility?

If you place a CR3 file where others can download it, I expect someone will be able to diagnose what you are seeing.

If using Canon DPP software, you might zoom to 400% while setting unsharp mask and digital lens optimizer. For a bird  photos, I avoid auto lighting optimizer and increase digital lens optimizer to make feather details more noticeable.