cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R6 Mark II: Question about why my shutter speed and ISO are acting the way they are

stcapp1426
Enthusiast

I have an R6 Mark II that I got about 6 months ago, and I am an amateur-level photographer. I shoot in manual most of the time with auto ISO and exposure compensation if I need it. I have the ISO capped at 12800. Today, I volunteered to shoot people at an event, so I set the camera to aperture priority so I could set my f stop and leave it since I was shooting them in front of a prop. I used my Canon EF mount (with adapter) 24-105 lens. My ISO was also on auto. My friend, who also has a Canon mirrorless (don't know which one) was there as well, with a Canon 70-300 EF mount lens. She set hers up the same way as I did. I noticed that my camera chose a very fast shutter speed combined with a high ISO. Shooting the same scene, her camera chose shutter speeds of around 1/200 with a much lower ISO. Why is that? Is there some setting I don't yet know about that's doing that? This has happened once before but I didn't think much of it then because I didn't have another photographer with me where we could compare settings. It seems like the shutter speed and ISO are competing with one another. What's going on? I'd greatly appreciate your help!

Sherri

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Sherri,

My apologies. I didn't read your initial post carefully enough.

As you said, the only variables I can see are the cameras and the lenses.

Any chance you can borrow her lens for a few test shots?

Take a couple with your lens, and then a couple of the exact same scene with hers at the same focal length.

See if there's a difference. You could also run the same test on her camera.