cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R Tips for Upcoming Total Solar Eclipse

RRohio
Apprentice

I have an EOS R - I know antiquated already.  I am an amateur photographer - very much so.  Any advice on taking pictures of the April 8th 2024 solar eclipse.  I will be totality.  I have a filter that I will use before and after totality.  I'm most interested in focusing tips.  Today's trial run wasn't the greatest.  I don't want to fuss too much during the event - I want to enjoy is as it may be my only total eclipse.  Know what I mean?  So easy is better.  I'm not looking to publish photos - just want a few for the memory.  Thanks for your help. 

4 REPLIES 4

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

Good for you for doing trial runs ahead of time.  Still, the clock is ticking.  Some software you might want can't even be downloaded close to the eclipse.

I'm not going to be there, but Nico Carver (Nebula Photos on YouTube) has done a whole series of videos on this, which you might find helpful.  Here's the playlist: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEL1m91odvY&list=PLrzbdmripj1fiZT1_XvxASYDQmEUH_J_a

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Total Solar Eclipse Photography: Get the Most Out of Your Experience! | B&H eXplora (bhphotovideo.co...

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, M200, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, Lr Classic

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You can't get more contrast than the edge of the sun and the sky, so focusing should be easy. What focusing mode are you in?

What is the focal length (mm) of your lens?

Do you have a steady tripod?

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Do not use auto-exposure or auto-focus for the eclipse.  Manually focus the lens (you can use your solar filter to do that) and leave it (some people will tape the focus ring to make sure it isn’t bumped during the eclipse).