cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 80D How to Instantly Save Images to Computer While Tethered

beezersh
Apprentice

Hello friends.  First post, so thanks for your patience.  I am an amateur photographer with a small basement studio. 

I'd like to try tethering to allow clients to view live shots on my Mac vs. in my camera viewfinder. I don't need to edit or organize in any way. I just want to be able to shoot and review pictures on a larger screen than my LCD.  

Equipment: Canon 80D, tethered to Mac book Pro mid 2012, OSX El Capitan ver. 10.11.6.  The 80D has the firmware updated to 1.0.3 (Aug 6, 2019). I have the Canon DPP4 installed along with the EOS utility 3. 

The computer reads the camera and I can adjust all settings, fire the shutter, and view in live mode.  However, when I take a photo it only shows up on the camera's SD card.  It never shows up on the quick view and doesn't go to the designated folder I selected on the Mac (I just used a subfolder from within the pictures folder). 

Is it possible to shoot photos and expect them to show up so I can quickly toggle through images to show clients?  I'm completely new to this, so I'm not sure of my next steps.   I should mention that for editing, I use a PC and Adobe Lightroom.  But my PC is not near my studio so I can't use it for tethering.  Thanks for any pointers. 

5 REPLIES 5

Michaelhunt
Contributor

Even, I am experiencing same issue. My issue is that The EOS Utility for Canon cameras allows the transfer of images stored in the Camera to a computer running the EOS Utility over WiFi. And this EOS Utility can be configured to transfer only those images not already in the destination folder. Is there a way to automatically transfer the image from the camera to the computer each time a new photo is taken with the camera.

@Michaelhunt wrote: