cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 7D autofocus doesn't hold target

stockdizzle
Contributor

Noob here.  I've read the manual and checked Google as much as I can, but I'm unable to solve this simple problem.  Just bought a used 7D and can't seem to figure out how to have it stay locked on a target as I recompose the shot.  When I half-depress the shutter button it focuses, but when I move the target it changes focus to whatever else was in that focal area.  I've tried going into 'C.FnIII: Autofocus / Drive' (sub menu 6) and checked (enabled) all the options (both the square box, and bullseyed square box on right), but it still isn't locking focus.  Phase Detection is enabled.  What am I doing wrong here?  It is my understanding that the bulleyed square targets are cross-type sensors (Canon's more advanced, precise focusing technology), and that was my initial intent--to be able to select a focal point, lock it, then recenter and compose the shot.  Please help--thanks!

Canon EOS 7D (original--not Mark anything)

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 telephoto lens

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Haha, well no wonder!  Apparently in AV mode it will not take a picture if it is not in focus lock...  

Problem solved!  Thanks everyone.  🙂

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

So this is my first forum post and I hope I'm replying to the entire thread here.  Thanks for your help!  I forgot to mention earlier that I'm using this 7D on AV mode, if that clears up anything.  I read up on back-button focus and I had actually turned it on already (I just didnt know the name of it!).\  Been messing around and it defintely does do what it's supposed to do--all seems normal.  That said, I wonder why it wasn't doing this earlier.  I just bought this camera in used condition and it wasn't as clean as promised, so being my first DSLR I'm hoping it's me and not a faulty camera, especially if this happens again after the thirty day return period 🙂