cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 7D Mark II Vs. 70D

sameersachdeva
Contributor

Hi All,

I am a hobbyist (IT techie by profession) and would like to know which one should I go for - EOS 7D Mark II or 70D? I already have EOS 600D for last three years and lenses - 135mm kit lens, Canon 100mm macro, Tokina Wide angle and Tamron 400mm AF. However, I have got my 600D repaired twice in last 1 - 2 years (board changed both the times due to some technical issue - Canon service center did not provide me with the details). I have already spent few bucks on repair services so want to upgrade to a better one.

I typically shoot landscapes, macros, street photography, Portraits (just started) and astrophotography. I would like to grow my photography skills further for exhibitions and online selling esp. start with Bird and wildlife photography. I am fine with the budget for both DSLRs. I am still giving second thoughts of going for 70D and invest the remaining amount in Tamron 600mm.

Please suggest which one will fit in my requirement.

Regards,

Sameer

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

IMHO, the two cameras are not comparable.  If the 7D Mk II is in the budget, go for it.  This isn't even a choice.

There is no Tamron 600mm?  Do you mean the 150-600mm zoom?  Tamrom makes very few prime lenses but the 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD has a $70 rebate until the end of the month.  It is an outstanding lens for the money.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

If you're OK with the higher price, I'd say by all means buy the 7D2. You already have a decent assortment of lenses; you can delay getting the 600mm until your budget has recovered from the camera purchase.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA