cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon R6 Mk II freezing frequently

Blackscarlet
Contributor

I am a club and event photographer who works 6 nights a week. I have a canon R6 and I kept having freezing issues, where the camara becomes none responsive and i have to take the battery out before it works again. This occurs every night. Depending on the club, up to 8 times an event within a 1hr time frame. I sent the camera to be repaired under warranty and while it was gone I bought the 6d mk ii. Withing the first 25 mins of using it , it began to freeze up as well. unlike the r6 which had an error code , this just has a dark grey screen and yet again i have to remove battery to reset. I use all canon original gear. Is anyone else having same problem?

If this persists I will have to return the camera for a refund.

Update. i also got my 6d back and withing first day it started freezing again but this time not showing an error code.

36 REPLIES 36

Are you using full sized SD Cards or Micro SD Cards in an adapter. I wouldn't use Micro SD Cards in an adapter. They cause all kinds of issues in cameras.

-Demetrius

EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM (Retired 8/2007-11/8/2022), EF 50 F/1.8 STM & EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM

EOS 40D (Retired 8/2007-5/26/2022) & 5D Mark IV

430EX III-RT & 600EX II-RT

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Full size sd , I try not to skimp on my gear, so as to not get unwanted issues. I didn't even know you could use micro SD with the adapter.

Most memory card issues in the forum are caused by the user using micro SD cards in an adapter. It's good to see that you're using the correct Full Sized SD cards to eliminate any problems.

-Demetrius