cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 6d shutter failure problem

bbstudio
Contributor

Hi everyone, 

I am having some problems with my canon 6d.

I am a professional photographer and I do mostly studio workwith it.

Lately i've been having issues with my shutter (at least looks thath way).

When I use studio lights the curtain appears in many of the shots in a randomly way.

I went to Canon official service and they replaced the shutter (it was an expensive replacement). But now I am having the same issue.

It doesn't seem to happen when I test the camera with natural light though. Which confuses me a lot.

Does anyone have any recomendations or educated guess about another thing that my cause the problem.

Thanks in advance to everyone.

EXAMPLE:

IMG_0022.jpg

15 REPLIES 15

Peter
Authority
Authority

Tried a slower shutter speed? 1/180 sec and slower or to activate High speed sync?

http://learn.usa.canon.com/resources/blogs/2013/20131209_stoner_highspeedsync_blog.shtml

@Peter wrote:

Tried a slower shutter speed? 1/180 sec and slower or to activate High speed sync?

http://learn.usa.canon.com/resources/blogs/2013/20131209_stoner_highspeedsync_blog.shtml

Okey, your settings: 1/125 sec, f/8, ISO 320

What kind of strobes and how do you trigger them?

i use a couple of Hensel studio lights. I have been using them for year now.

as you said, the shutter speed is 125 which should be more than fine.

this just started to happen a few months ago sudenly adn as i said before, they already change the shutter in my camera i don't know what else to do.

I use a chinese remote trigger... been using this also for a long time.

maybe they are broken?

@bbstudio wrote:

I use a chinese remote trigger... been using this also for a long time.

maybe they are broken?

It is time to start eliminating possibilities.  Do you have a Canon Speedlite you could try?

--------------------------------------------------------