cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera recommendations for beginner photographer

Moose13
Apprentice

Hi! Just putting a post up, I am a beginner, photographer, and I mostly want to capture landscape/nature photos. I have a limit of about $500-$600 to spend. Just wondering what camera would be right for me. Thanks :)) Also, any beginner tips are appreciated.🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Issues with SDXC memory cards being used in Rebels seems limited to only the “entry level” ####D bodies, but not the “advanced beginner” ###D Rebel bodies like the T6I, T7I, T8i, etc.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

The M50 Mark II and the EOS M series is a dying series likely getting replaced by the RF Mount APS-C cameras. 

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, 430EX III-RT, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D, Sigma 17-50mm F/2.8 EX DC OS HSM & EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Unless Canon is prepared to make major adjustments to its pricing of RF mount cameras, there will be no replacement for the M50 with an RF mount. There is a far greater gap between the M50 and the R10 in terms of price than there is in terms of capability. And even if I did think the M50 was going to be discontinued soon, I wouldn't consider it a bad investment. (And even if what you say were to come true, it doesn't justify recommending a T7 to someone who indicates they can afford an M50 at the present time.)

Kevin Rahe
EOS M50 Mark II