cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Astrophotography Setting for EOS RP

tstevens83
Apprentice

I have a modified EOS RP that I have been using for astrophotography.  I have reading a lot on what DSLR settings would make the best images including Craig Stark (http://www.stark-labs.com/craig/resources/Articles-&-Reviews/CanonLinearity.pdf).  Craig ran exposure experiments on his Rebel XSi with Digic III processor.  He knows that Digic III changes the RAW image and concludes "The camera’s internal gain (e-/ADU) for each ISO value points toward limiting the ISO to 400 and not using higher values. Both in theory and in practice, using higher values limits the dynamic range and does not let you pull out fainter details from the noise (even if they look brighter)."  I personally have been using 12800 ISO with no issues.  However, I have only been shooting deep space objects for about a year, so I'm still learning.  I'm concerned about introducing too much noise with the higher ISO.  I'm wondering how much the Digic 8 processor changes the results of Craig's experiment, i.e. 400 ISO limit.  Does anyone have experience with using the EOS RP in astrophotography and has optimized the settings?

3 REPLIES 3

Hammond69
Apprentice

@tstevens83 wrote: www.myindigocard.com