cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Airplane photography trouble: Is the EOS 4000D or EF 75-300mm lens to blame?

I_ask_questions
Apprentice

Hello, i am a relatively new photographer and i mainly photograph planes and i shoot on a canon eos 4000d and EF 75-300mm zoom lens both are used and cleaned. Anyways, im not really happy with the results i have got and ive done my research to figure out how to get better and have applied those new skills but still not happy and is looking into getting a new lens, a sigma 150-500mm lens and was wondering if thats the case or my camera is the issue

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

The 75-300 is not one of Canon's best endeavors.  It lacks IS and is not known for its sharpness.

The Sigma lens you are considering is a great lens for wildlife and would also work pretty well for shooting planes at Airshows.  The 4000D / T100 is a very basic entry level 18MP camera with a Digic 4+ processor. Max shutter 1/4000 and 9 point AF.  It's at it's best outdoors in daylight.  It should be more than enough to get some great photos with a lens that is better suited for capturing subjects at greater distances.  The Sigma would offer this.

Do note, that you'll need to practice a bit.  The Sigma 150-600 is a longer and much heavier lens.  Many shoot with it handheld, but a tripod might also be something to consider if you are shooting for extended periods.      

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

The 75-300 is not one of Canon's best endeavors.  It lacks IS and is not known for its sharpness.