cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advise for new camera: Eos RP, 6dm2 or apsc?

sampitalakamui
Apprentice

Hello everyone, I'm new here 🙂

I started a few years ago with a 1300D with lens 18-55 and it's time to upgrade.

I have limited budget (1200/1300) but for my purposes I think that it's more than enough. I'm just an amateur that like to take family pictures or bring the camera with me when I have a walk to take picture to animals, flowers and so. And I would like to switch to a full-time (however I don't know if it's worth it for my usage).

RP seems interesting, there is a bundle is canon site with camera, 24-105 STM lens, two batteries, SD, backpack with 1300 bucks. Otherwise it's easy to find used 6D mark ii with 30/40K shots a good price and in case I can purchase a 400/500$ lens.

I'm thinking about RP, i prefer the smaller size and digic 8, battery life it's not a real issue, I don't need a camera for all day usage but usually just for a couple of hours. The only thing that scares me it's the passage from reflex to mirrorless, I don't like to take pictures using the live view but only with viewfinder. Furthermore a lot of people doesn't likes RP, seems worst than 6dm2. 

So at this point I don't know if to go with the RP, the used 6dm2 or maybe reconsider to get another apsc like 90d or R10 for my kind of usage. Consider I'd like to keep this camera for next years and start to invest in lens.

Thank you!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Given what you just posted: that you want to start afresh with a FF camera, and given your budget, I would suggest you go for the RP bundle that you referred to.  If you are starting afresh with a view to expanding into new lenses over time with FF, then the RP deal is a relatively cheap doorway into the FF Mirrorless market.  It is actually quite a good camera and the bundle is a good deal that fits in your price bracket along with what you need to get going.