cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D Mark II Locked on Error 70

Davoud
Enthusiast

After struggling for an hour or so with third-party camera-control software I ended up with an ERR 70 on my 6d Mk II.

The software that I was using is from a reputable developer; it is widely used by astrophotographers and I have been using it for years with various Canon DSLRs without a problem. This is my first attempt to use it with the 6D Mk II. Sometimes it worked, sometimes the software would fail to connect to the camera. It was in the course of troubleshooting this problem that I ended up with  ERR 70.

Possible bugs in the interaction between Mac OS High Sierra and the camera could be at fault.

In any case, I ended up with  ERR 70. Removing the battery for a couple of hours didn't help.Changing lenses didn't help. Reformatting the SD card didn't help. Other ideas most welcome.

Thanks,

David aka Davoud

16 REPLIES 16

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Have you tried powering off, removing the SD Card and then repowering with no card installed?

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

@shadowsports wrote:

Have you tried powering off, removing the SD Card and then repowering with no card installed?

Yes. Every conceivable combination of powering off/removing card/removing battery/changing lenses...

Use a new SD card if it won't work then try turn off the automatic sensor cleaning and see what happens.

I googled and found this link.

https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/260752/HELP%21+Error+Code+70

Another maybe useful info :

http://www.reikanphotography.co.uk/blog/2011/11/Canon-EOS-Cameras-Recovering-from-Err-70