Rising Star

Hello Everyone…

I have 2 Canon Cameras EOS 40 D & EOS 7D

Currently have the following lenses

Canon EF 28-135mm IS USM (2)

Canon EF 70-300mm IS USM

Canon EF 100mm IS USM L Series Macro

Canon EFS 18-55mm (El Cheapo)

I am in the market for a wider angle fixed prime;  my first choice would be…

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

However considering I do have about $1500.00 to work with I will explain the following. I am not a professional, this is one of my few hobbies, I am  typically interested in landscape photography and have 100K photos behind me, my usual outing involves the 40D with the 70-300 locked and a circular polarizer, I have recently determined that I need to obtain a wider field of view, however after reading the various forums my question is should I be looking at Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM or should I be looking at a Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM for more versatility, that one seems redundant since I have a couple of 28-135s

I do already have several 58mm filters, CP, 4-ND, Color enhancher, star filters, etc

I have reached the point where since I just purchased a used 7D I would like to see better results…

Please take a look at my photography in general first then from your experience would a 50mm 1.2 be the obvious lens I am missing, I am not really interested in buying 2 new lenses, just one.

https://500px.com/Mitsubishiman

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks for the reply, I will be upgrading lenses eventually, unfortunately regarding the post processing I do virtually none at this time, after purchasing the 7D it became apperant I need to start, so saving up for photoshop, in the mean time i have paint shop pro 12, I realize it is the cheap alternative, however everyone needs to start somewhere. and I feel I am off to a good start, Thanks again.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23

TCampbell
Elite
Elite