cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens not focusing

CodeRedAddictMD
Contributor

Hello, I'm new to the camera/photography thing so I don't know much about much. For context, I have a Rebel T7 camera, and I recently purchased a Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L USM lens. I take a lot of sports pics of the kids and thought this would be a nice little upgrade from my Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III lens. I'm often taking photos from afar and am zoomed in to 200mm with the new lens and not a single picture came out clear, all were out of focus. Pictures were taken from a tripod with AF for some and manual focus for others. I did some test shots at home zooming in on the bookshelf and still couldn't get any focus on the photos. Being new, I'm not 100% sure I'm doing something wrong, but I don't feel like any of the photos should be that out of focus. With closer shots the lens focuses better, but I still think it's not as clear as my other lenses. I'm at a point where I'm thinking it's more of a lens problem than a me problem, but wanted to be certain before sending it back. 

I appreciate and look forward to any help!

Thank you!

18 REPLIES 18

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum!

First, just make sure that your lens has the autofocus switch set to the ON position.

Second, make sure that the camera is not set to macro mode according to the dial on the top, right side of your camera. If in doubt refer to P30 of your manual, HERE is a link to the on-line version.  That dial should be on P, Av or Tv mode, but not the one with the flower

If neither of those work, look up how to reset your camera to factory default. 

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend