cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is 24-70 f/2.8 MK1 Still Worth It?

prathma1
Apprentice

Hi everyone, I currently shoot video and do photography on a Canon EOS R which I picked up for a bargain price last year.

I currently use the kit lens, an RF 24-105 f/4-7.1 lens. This lens has served me well and has worked well Ik lowlight, but after using this setup for a while i want to upgrade.

I am currently going to check out a 24-70 f/2.8 mk1 lens tomorrow. The seller agreed to let it go for £350 upon me testing it.

The thing is this lens lacks IS. When i film, i have a gimbal so that’s not the problem. Usually on my kit lens i shoot at 1/100 or 1/125. Even 1/80 sometimes. Will the IS not being available be a bigger issue for handheld pictures? I mostly shoot at day.

Secondly I also saw a Ef 24-105 f/4 IS Mark 2 (ii). This one I can get for £450. This is similar my lens but is only f/4, BUT it has IS. Should i consider this? I originally planned to spend about £300 as i have travelled from Ireland.

TL;DR: Buy MK1 EF 24-70 f/2.8 or EF 24-105 f/4 IS ii? Pairing with EOS R.

2 REPLIES 2

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

This is a tough question to answer.

For many this choice often comes down to budget.  EF glass when adapted works extremely well on mirrorless body's.  Occasionally there are caveats.  Unable to achieve maximum FPS, AF may be a little bit slower, etc.  In the majority of cases, however adapting Canon EF lenses to a mirrorless body using a Canon adapter works extremely well.  Many claim EF lenses perform better on a mirrorless body than they did on a DSLR.