cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interpreting specified focal lengths

ehz
Apprentice

Are the focal lengths specified for the EFS lenses true focal lengths, or have they been adjusted to be 35mm equivalent?  For example, if an EF lens with a specified focal length range of 18mm-55mm is mounted on an EOS 70D which has a 22.5 x 15mm sensor, does the angle range from somewhat wide to somewhat telephoto, or does the angle range from very wide to barely over standard.

I had assumed that the focal lengths listed are true, but then I noticed Canon describing a lens labeled 50mm as "standard" which would be the case for 35mm film, but not for a 22mm sensor. 

(Sorry for asking such a basic question.  I'm new to DSLR.)

- Ehz

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Skirball
Authority

The focal lengths on the lens are true focal lengths.  They're the same regardless of EF or EF-S.  Putting them on a crop sensor will narrow the FOV.  So the 18-55 on a 70D will behave something like a 24-70 would on a 35mm camera (technically it'd be like 28 - 88).

View solution in original post

RexGig
Enthusiast
EF-S lenses are designated by their true focal ength, not the 35mm-equivalent. Keep in mind that on a cropped-frame camera, the image is cropped, which changes the apparent angle-of-view, but the focal length remains the same. For example, a wide-angle lens with focal length that makes a close-range subject's nose appear too large, or distorts vertical lines if not held level, will do so to the same degree on both a 35mm sensor, and a cropped-frame sensor.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Skirball
Authority

The focal lengths on the lens are true focal lengths.  They're the same regardless of EF or EF-S.  Putting them on a crop sensor will narrow the FOV.  So the 18-55 on a 70D will behave something like a 24-70 would on a 35mm camera (technically it'd be like 28 - 88).

RexGig
Enthusiast