cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best wide-angle lens for Canyon shots?

heathrli
Contributor

Hi Experts!

I'm a novice in photography and am going on a giant trip through Arizona/Utah this summer. I'll be visiting all the major Canyon National Parks (e.g. Grand, Zion, Bryce, Antelope, Arches, and more!) and would like a wide-angle lens for my trip.

I have the Canon Rebel SL1. The only lenses I have currently are:

18-55mm EF-S IS STM 

55-250mm EF-S IS STM

18-135mm EF-S IS STM

I've never had a lens that DIDN'T zoom, but there have been many occasions I wanted a wider lens than 18mm. I have absolutely no idea where to start when it comes to looking for a wide-angle lens though.. I'd also be open to suggestions for a smaller range zoom if those are good too..?

Fast auto-focus is important for me since I'm usually on the go-go-go during my trips. 

Any recommendations would be appreciated. Explanations of why would also helpful. Thanks so much!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Skirball
Authority

The best (and only actually) currently manufactured ultra-wide for EF-S cameras is the EF-S 10-22.  Canon just announced a 10-18 STM that will be released soon, but that's probably still a month off.  I still think the 10-22 is a better lens (for my needs), but the 10-18 comes in at a very good price point ($300) and adds image stabilization.  But you'd have to wait for it.

Edit: I should say, the 10-22 is currently the only Canon manufactured ultrawide for EF-S.  Sigma, Tokina, and Tamron also make options for slightly cheaper.

View solution in original post

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

You may want to look at (or rent) the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM.  

There are a number of 3rd party competitors which similar characteristics, but this lens usually wins in the reviews.