cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What was fixed in the firmware for inkjet printers that continuously reboot or power down?

Contributor

As the title asks the question…what happened that caused all of the printers with internet access to behave the way that they did on the 31st?

I think in the spirit of transparency that we should be given an answer as to what caused the problem. Also, what was added to the firmware update that fixed it? I’m curious because I’m not updating my firmware because changing the DNS manually allows me to print without issue. Is there any benefit to the firmware update other than web services or over the air firmware updates?

11 REPLIES 11

martharitte
Contributor

I am no computer pro, but i was unable to download the updated firmware, and have no idea how to manually change DNS.  I could not get the connection between printer and computer with UBS.  Is this printer worth me persuing profession IT services?  Thought?

What model do you have? My model is the MG7520. If you can disconnect from internet (turn off router, temporarily  unplug modem from router, etc.) it’s very easy to change the DNS under web services. The difference my be that your printer doesn’t have the same menu but it should be very similar to this:

MG7520 Web Services DNS change 

After pausing your internet connection:

• Turn on the printer
  • Slide the lcd printer menu to the right and tap setup
  • Tap Web Service setup
  • Tap DNS server setup
  • Tap manual setup
  • Change the value to 192.168.000.199 (write down the old value in case you want to change it back later)
  • press “OK,” and then press “no” for a secondary DNS server.

Power down your printer and reconnect to the internet. Your printer should now function normally.

The only thing I would change is the DNS IP. Instead of 192.168.00.199 use 000.000.000.001 That seems to be the IP address that Canon support offered during a call.

I have a MX 490