cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Software to Intelligently Transfer Photos to a Win 8.1 PC

bill77056
Apprentice

Hi, I'm a newbie here and pleased to have found the Board.

I have several digital Canon cameras and have successfully moved images from the cameras to WinXP and 7 PC systems via USB without issue. The transfer software would allow one to: 1) designate the storage location on the PC, 2) give the images a name, 3) delete the camera image when complete. Perhaps there were other options available.

Windows 8.1 has a built-in app named Camera and Canon has a suite of programs in CameraWindowDC. Both give the same final result when the camera is attached to the PC. The Windows 8.1 PRO system recognizes the camera model and transferres the images. There are no options for destination folder, name, or delete offered. Images are stored by date group in the Win Pictures system folder.

Any suggestions about locating the software that previously handled the downloading? I'm ignorant about it. Was it Microsoft or Canon. If Canon, perhaps it is on the disks that came with the cameras. Name?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

Bill

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Richard
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi Bill,

You may set the destination folder when you connect your camera to your computer.  When the CameraWindow opens, click on the gear icon at the top left-hand side of the Window.  On the next page, click on the "Import" tab, then choose "Folder Settings" to select the destination folder.

For information regarding the location of Canon software, please let us know which Canon camera you have.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Richard
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi Bill,