cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPP 4.18 crashes on editing CR2 from G10

Grogley
Apprentice

I have been using DPP for nearly 20 years, beginning with an EOS 20D. The latest versions are quite unpredictable but seem to work with all my legacy raw files except those CR2 files from the G10. The program will open those files (haven't tested all the variations) but if the file is opened with the "Edit Image" button or double clicking the thumbnail image. A few clicks (highlight or shadow controls will do it) into editing the entire program crashes. Windows event viewer has two entries, the first says:

Faulting application name: Dpp4Main.exe, version: 4.18.0.0, time stamp: 0x64104245
Faulting module name: Dpp3Engine.dll, version: 4.18.0.0, time stamp: 0x64103fba
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000016d658
Faulting process id: 0x52fc
Faulting application start time: 0x01d99fa0f0680f43
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Canon\Digital Photo Professional 4\Dpp4Main.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Canon\Digital Photo Professional 4\Dpp4Lib\Dpp3Engine.dll
Report Id: ec0a3938-bfd0-4ad3-8c39-b159a951c68b
Faulting package full name:

The second says:

Application: Dpp4Main.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00000270B3F3D658
Stack:

The OS I use is WIndows 10 Pro 32 Gbytes RAM, 2 Tbyte SSD and 13 Tbyte spinning media in RAID 1.

I have tried removing and reinstalling DPP but the behavior does not change. I will post other anomalies later as time allows. Thanks in advance for any help.

Rod

I have used the following Canon camera with DPP, EOS 20D, 7D, 5D mIII, R8, Powershot G10 G5X mII

5 REPLIES 5

John_Q
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hello Grogley,