cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I need a lens filter for shooting portraits in direct sun?

edison65
Apprentice

I am shooting my first wedding next week and I am totally scared of direct sun.

I am using a canon R6 camera, and planning on using a 35mm 1.8, and a 50mm 1.8 lens.

I’ve never used any filters before, and wonder if it’s even relevant to use lens filters like an ND filter to tame the light a bit (what stop do you mainly use in this case?) or a Polarizing filter to handle sweaty-highlight or reflections.

I could really use any feedback here, thanks

2 REPLIES 2

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

From the sunny 16 rule, a good exposure for a bright sunny day is f/16, 1/100 s at ISO 100.  For simplicity in discussion, say you want to use a lens at f/2 (difference of 6 stops).  Because ISO is at the minimum, you'd need to adjust the shutter by 6 stops (1/6400 s) to compensate.   Or, keep the shutter at 1/100 s and use a 6-stop ND filter.

While ND filters are often crucial for video work (especially when those filters are built-in and very quickly adjustable), do note the following for photo work:

• You'd be using screw-on type filters, so if moving between indoors and outdoors often, you'd need time to install/remove the ND filter.
  • While a 6-stop ND filter would handle the particular scenario above, note that ISO and shutter are at/near extreme ends (slower shutters than 1/100 s would be challenging, especially with moving subjects).   So a 3-stop ND filter may be more advantageous to allow better wiggle room with your shutter speed.  i.e. use the shutter to fine-tune the exposure.
  • While using ND filters can allow you to easily use the maximum aperture on your lenses in very bright conditions, you could end up with depth-of-field challenges.  Especially if attempting to photograph large groups of people.