cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VIXIA HF R800 audio options - phantom powered mics, line level input?

RobertStapleton
Apprentice

Hi,
Love the options available on this camera and am thinking of buying one. I want to get the best audio possible and have read the threads on this forum about problems with external mics.

As I understand, the external mic jack requires a powered mic and a stereo 3.5mm plug. I'm a musician and am only knowledgeable about related things so I want to make sure what I have will work with this camcorder. I have condensor mics, some with and some without phantom power. Those are all mono signal with XLR connectors. Would it even be possible to convert such a connector to the type required?

Another possibility is I can run mics through a mixing board and then output the signal via 1/4" connector which I assume can be converted to a 3.5 stereo plug, but would that result in low volume due to only using one side of stereo?

Long story short is, how can I achieve the highest quality possible recording of a musical performance?

Thanks in advance,
Robert

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Richard
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi RobertStapleton,

Thanks for posting.

The camcorder doesn't provide phantom power required to power an "active" microphones. The power should be provided by an internal battery or external power source (battery or other power source).

While the XLR connector shouldn't be an issue in and of itself, if the mic is an active mic (requiring phantom power), it will need that external power source.  I do recommend limiting the number of connections for your microphone.  More connections means a greater opportunity for distortion, static or other acoustic issues.

With regard to a connection to an external source, such as your mixer, unless the mixer can provide a Mic level output, it won't work. This camcorder cannot accept a line-level input.