cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Radio communication issues.EL-1, 600EXII-RT, 430EXIII-RT, YN686EX-RT, ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter

ZR
Contributor

Hello, Canon. Hi everyone, I've been a professional wedding and event photographer for 25 years, and in the last two years. I have used around six off-camera flash techniques using the six flashes mentioned above. After hundreds of weddings in the previous month, I have connection-linking issues. I read and checked every tutorial possible, and nothing helped.:( I know the menu's sub menus' custom settings, and the only flash linked for hours is the Yonguno YN686EX-RT. All of my Canon brands flash, losing connection after 5-minute. I attached two cellphone photos where you can see the problems after 5-minute. CANON or some of you guys have any idea what's going on? PLEASE HELP ME! Thank you so much. 

FlashRC.jpg

52 REPLIES 52

- just found out that RadioPoppers only work with ST-E2-RT (RadioPoppers need optical system, not radio; the E3 only supports radio).

Additional question, for any folks who have tried various testing scenarios:   Do you know if the source of the link-drop is specifically the Canon flash - or could it alternatively be the Canon transmitter as well?  (The original post showed an example of the Canon ST-E3-RT maintaining a link with YN686EX-RT over an extended period of time).  I'm wondering if the link would stay up as long as both pieces were not Canon (reason for question:  it would be cheaper to replace one transmitter as opposed to replacing every flash) ...!

I have the latest EL-1 flashes (2 of them) plus one (1) of the 600EX-RT flashes along with the ST-E3-RT (version 2) and I have proven the transmitter ST-E3-RT is NOT the problem. What I did was connect all 3 flashes to the transmitter, and everything was good to go. I made this test with only the flashes and transmitter, the camera was not in use for these tests.