cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flash for r7

ajm133
Contributor

Hi

Upgrading form a t3i to r7.  Although a few dollars more, i am considering buying an EL-100 to avoid any compatibility issues.

My only concern is the power of the flash and i was curious if you had any thoughts in this area.  I currently have a Yongnuo YN560 that has served me extremely well (pretty much always use bounce flash), and the EL-100 seems like it might be a significant step-down in power.  The AD-E1 is out of stock everywhere, and of course this huge Yongnuo is awkward on the r7.  I wouldn't be as concerned power wise with the 430, but the price is pretty high for my needs.

I am not a professional photographer, just casual use.  

Thanks

AJM

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The adapter won't help unless the speedlite is weather sealed. Your old Yongnuo speedlite is simply incompatible. The EL-100 will fit your needs for a new speedlite. If you want a speedlite for $100 or less you'll need to buy used then. You have no other alternatives other than 3rd Party speedlites. Some may or may NOT be compatible.

-Demetrius
Bodies: EOS 40D (Retired) & EOS 5D Mark IV (Current)
Lenses: EF Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 70-210mm F/4 (Brought out of Retirement) & EF 85mm F/1.8 USM
Speedlites: 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

What is your budget for a speedlite. Only weather sealed speedlites require the adapter. The normal 5 pins are still there for legacy speedlites. 

-Demetrius
Lenses: EF Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 70-210mm F/4 (Brought out of Retirement) & EF 85mm F/1.8 USM

Ideally $100 or less, would consider as much as $150 if i had to buy the EL-100