Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2017

EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Hi,

Using the EOS Utility with a 700d in Live View causes a constant CPU spike of over 150% in Activity Monitor

This in turn causes the internal fan to run continuosly, ruining the audio recording.

Seems like there's a huge memory leak in the software. I've updated to the latest version of the EOS Utility compatible with the 700d, closed all other applications etc and nothing works.

Is there a fix for this? I daresay this question has been asked before, but I couldn't find a satisfactory answer anywhere.

Specs:

EOS Utility (v2.14.10.2)

Canon 700d (firmware v1.1.4)

 

2012 Macbook Pro, 2.9GHz Intel Core i7, 8Gb Ram

OSX 10.11.2

 

Product Expert
Posts: 975
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Hi Balaka,

 

Thanks for posting.

 

Canon has not issued any bulletins or announcements, regarding memory leaks or similar issues with this software.  Depending on the operating system you're using, you may be able to update the software for your camera.  You may access the software by clicking here.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2017

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Hi,

I updated to v2.14.31, unfortunately it doesn't fix the problem. The CPU still maxes out at almost 200% (!!!) in Live Mode.

On a 2.9Ghz i7 processor, this is obscene.


VIP
Posts: 8,031
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

I would advise checking your Windows settings for when it detects new media.  Disable the feature that automatically searches new storage media, like thumb drives, for media files.  Windows Media Player may have a similar setting, do disable that one, too.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2017

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

OSX Smiley Wink

Have already disabled automatic import settings in Photo.

I'm 99% sure it's a problem with The EOS Utility, as the CPU spiking only happens when switching to Live View. As soon as that window is closed, (but the utility is still open) the CPU goes back to normal.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,307
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Could be it just needs that much CPU to process the data. That is a lot of data coming down the pike.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,307
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Let's see, that is 1M pixels with 3 bytes per pixel at 30 frames a second is 90 MB/second.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-26-2017

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Hello,

 

I also can confirm high CPU on Macbook Pro 250% while using EOS Utility 2 on Mac OS High Sierra.

 

Newest Software, newest Firmware.

 

I hope it will be fixed soon.

 

Thank you!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-26-2018

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

I have the same problem 
MAc Pro 2017 

2.9 GHz Intel Core i7

16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3

Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2019

Re: EOS Utility 2 High CPU usage

Has anyone tried using an older version or alternative  software ?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement