Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,870
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

1D Mark IV is supported by DPP4, but when I try to download EU3 it says my serial number is from an unsupported camera. Any workaround available?
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,455
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working


jrhoffman75 wrote:
1D Mark IV is supported by DPP4, but when I try to download EU3 it says my serial number is from an unsupported camera. Any workaround available?

You could probably solve your immediate problem by getting it from someone who has already downloaded it. But since Canon seems to be moving towards replacement installation modules in lieu of updates, you could have the same problem again and again. So you'd probably better call Canon and get it straightened out.

 

I suppose it's conceivable that EOSU 3 really isn't compatible with the 1D4 and that you'd be limited to those features of DPP 4 that don't require EOSU. But that strikes me as far-fetched. More likely it's a listing error on Canon's part. Maybe you're the first 1D4 user who's tried to install that software combination. As Ernie Biggs is fond of pointing out, most 1D4 users probably use Photoshoppe.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,870
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

Thanks Bob. I'm a Lightroom guy primarily but like to see what DPP can do with some images.

I will contact Canon and see what they say.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,870
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

Canon response:

I'm afraid EOS Utility 3 does not support the EOS-1D Mark IV. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. You will need to download your images using EOS Utility 2, and then open Digital Photo Professional 4 separately and work with them from there. EOS Utility 3 only supports these models of camera:

EOS REBEL T6s
EOS REBEL T6i
EOS 7D Mark II
EOS-1D X
EOS-1D C
EOS 5D Mark III
EOS 6D
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-08-2015

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

[ Edited ]

Oh Canon, I'm not impressed. So why do you post DPP as a 70D software download when it requires EOS Utility 3 to work? What you are suggesting above is essentially a workaround because DPP does not work as designed with any other than the above models. How about some honestly where representing your products online is concerned? I for one am not happy with the time I've wasted over this. (thanks John Hoffman for posting this)

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,455
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working


jrhoffman75 wrote:
Canon response:

I'm afraid EOS Utility 3 does not support the EOS-1D Mark IV. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. You will need to download your images using EOS Utility 2, and then open Digital Photo Professional 4 separately and work with them from there. EOS Utility 3 only supports these models of camera:

EOS REBEL T6s
EOS REBEL T6i
EOS 7D Mark II
EOS-1D X
EOS-1D C
EOS 5D Mark III
EOS 6D

Well, that's news to me. I had thought that EOSU 3 supported exactly the same cameras as DPP 4. But it does explain one oddity that I noticed the other day: When I opened EOSU 3 to set the time and copyright notice on one of my 7D's, it reverted to EOSU 2, even though the latest release of DPP 4 does support the 7D. Because I always use a card reader and don't use EOSU for downloads or remote shooting, what happened to John never happened to me.

 

This may be one of those situations that will work itself out over time. When DPP 4 and EOSU 3 first came out, they supported full-frame cameras only. But that restriction has been relaxed a couple of times since. So it's possible that the next release will provide broader support.

 

I'll be interested to hear Ernie Biggs's reaction if he's reading this thread. I guess he'll either lambaste Canon for dissing the 1D series or reaffirm his contention that DPP is for newbies only.  Smiley Wink

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2016

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

DPP 4.5 doesn't start the 2.14 utility. It just gives that "A compatible version of EOS Utility is not installed" even if the latest 3.xx is there. If I start the 3.xx it just tells me to "connect an EOS camera", pair it over WIFI/Lan or close.

 

The 5D Mk2 is an excellent camera and as the latest DPP supports it I'll expect that the utilities will follow!

 

Regards

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-11-2016

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

I gets even worse...In the Canon "AF Microadjustment Guidebook" while the 1Ds Mk 3 IS able to do this task, the guide wants you to use DPP 4....and for some reason, when you try to use EOSU v3....it brings v 2 right along......

 

Bummer..

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,455
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working


bhill wrote:

I gets even worse...In the Canon "AF Microadjustment Guidebook" while the 1Ds Mk 3 IS able to do this task, the guide wants you to use DPP 4....and for some reason, when you try to use EOSU v3....it brings v 2 right along......

 

Bummer..


The way it works, which I don't believe Canon has ever explained very clearly, is that when you do a clean installation of the latest version of EOSU 3, it installs both versions (2 and 3) and a control program which selects the version that's appropriate for your camera. Thus they compensate for the fact that not all cameras that can use DPP4 can use EOSU 3.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-20-2018

Re: Digital Photo Professional "Remote Shooting" not working

[ Edited ]

Im also having a problem with the EOS utilitys. I have EOS utility and EOS utility 2 but not EOS utility 3. My camera was working fine until the 30th of december when EOS utility started trying to connect to my camera through the internet. I have never had EOS utility 3 though and Im not sure if I need it. The camera I have is a Canon EOS 1300D. I have uninstalled all the softwares and reinstalled them multiple times but that didn't change anything.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement