cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pro 1000 - Print with "Low Ink" warning?

bwsaunders
Apprentice
I am in a bit of a bind and don't know where else to look for information. I own a Canon Pro-1000 printer (all up to date drivers), and have run into a low ink problem. 

This morning I received a low ink warning on two of my print cartridges. This is my first time having to replace them, but when I went to remove the cartridges, there is still ink sloshing in them. From my own research, I know there is still ink in the lines and inner supply tank. But, when I go to do a small test print, I get the "Error - Please check the printers op panel or Remote UI" message in the status window. 

Is there any way to dismiss the "New Notice" on the Printer and allow it to continue printing? I've turned off "Ink Monitoring" and restarted the printer but that doesn't work. I've read and spoken to other users who say that they continue printing with "Low Ink" warning until they get a red "Ink Empty" indication, but I can't see any way to do that. I am using the most recent version of Canon Professional Print and Layout Job Manager. 

Thank you very much for the help!

7 REPLIES 7

bwsaunders
Apprentice

I've weighed both print cartridges... they came in at 57 and 59 grams. I know that the fully empty cartridges weigh 37g, so I'm pretty baffled. Given the high cost of pigment inks, it seems crazy to discard that much ink.

Greetings,

The printer shouldn't abitrarily report low ink.  Something is obviously wrong.  Are you using Canon branded inks?  Canon measures ink ml, not in grams.  Is it possible you have a blockage?

If it were me, I'd want to know why my printer was unable to determine ink levels correctly.  Maybe a call to Canon is in order?

~Rick
Bay Area - CA