cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paper for Pro10S

RodYo
Apprentice

Hi. Just bought a Pro 10S and results have been good. with Innove Semi-matte paper. I'm running out and thinking about what would be best to buy next. I've tried Platinum pro but it's glossy and that doesn't suit my images. I thought about switching to Canon papers either semi-matte or luster (what exactly is the difference?).Or perahps another third party supplier.

I am really new to the Canon Pro having owned an HP previously so any recommendations/explanations about paper wiould be very gratefully received.

Many thanks

Rod

8 REPLIES 8

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
I don't think Canon has a semi-matte paper. Canon did have semi-gloss. It is essentially same surface as luster.

Photo Paper Pro Luster is a good all around paper. Platinum Pro is very glossy ( as you found out) and doesn't work for all images.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Or perahps another third party supplier."

Give Red River a try.  They have a wealth of info on Canon printers, too.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Red River has had a lot of good press but I can't get it in the UK. I was hoping one of the Canon papers might be good for high quality work. Still can't undesrtand the difference between Canon's semi-gloss and luster. Is it that one tends to the gloss end and the other matte. I used to print on Ilford with my HP and the results were pretty good.

What I'm really searching for is the best match for the printer and was hoping someone might tell me of a magic combination.

Anyway, thanks for your replies.

Rod

"Red River has had a lot of good press but I can't get it in the UK."

Why?  They ship to the UK.

From their web site;