cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it safe to use a UPS for my Canon Image Prograf 2100 Printer?

Apope375
Apprentice

Hello,

Is it safe to use a UPS for my Canon Image Prograf 2100 Printer? If so, what type of UPS would you recommend? I currently have a UPS, a Cyber Power PR2200LCDSL that's supporting my PC and Servers in my home office. But I don't know if I should plug my Printer into that one given the power consumption of the other devices, or if I should get another UPS (if so what size) or if I should ignore it altogether. 

Just FYI, I'd prefer to use a UPS if I can since outlets in my apartment are minimal. Any info you can provide is much appreciated. 

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Please use this as a reference, I am not an electrician. 😉 Most printer manufacturers will tell you not to plug your printer into a UPS.  This is true if you are using a consumer grade UPS that only supplies 200-350w.    One or two pro-sumer or professional models can usually keep you going for brief power interruptions.  They also provide protection for dips and surges.  Your printer does not have significant power requirements.  If you live in an area that has inclement weather, power fluctuations or frequent power outages, I might protect my printer.

This might help.  Using a UPS or power strip as a means of adding outlets does not change your home's ability to support more devices or increase the amps or load a circuit can deliver or sustain.  A typical residence uses 15amp circuits.  An apartment might have dedicated circuits or if older, might share a circuit on different sides of a wall or room.

The cyberpower website has a great runtime calculator for your UPS.  It provides typical runtime scenarios depending on the load your UPS is under.  These times are approximate.

shadowsports_0-1688252720490.png

Your printer while large, doesn't consume as much power as one might think.