cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wasted paper between pages - TM-305

OwensTech
Apprentice

I have a imagePROGRAF TM-305 used in a production environment printing on a 36" roll.  The 3-page PDF we print is the same size every time.  Page 1 is 12"W, page 2 is 24"W and page 3 is 12"W. 

When the PDF starts printing 4" of paper is cut off, another 4" between pages 1 and 2 and another 4" between pages 2 and 3.  A total of 12" of paper wasted on every print job.

I'm new to this printer and I need some assistance to reduce or eliminate this waste. 

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks you!   

5 REPLIES 5

Patrick
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi OwensTech,

It sounds like your imagePROGRAF TM-305 is set to automatically cut the leading edge of the roll paper. If the leading edge of the paper is cut crooked or is not cut straight when roll paper is loaded, it will not print correctly. If this happens, you can cut the leading edge of the paper straight when loading a paper roll by using Trim Edge First in the Control Panel menu. Turning the Trim Edge First setting off should resolve your issue. Follow these steps to change the Trim Edge First setting:

1. Tap the paper information area on the display of your imagePROGRAF TM-305.

2. Tap Paper settings.

3. Tap Advanced.

4. Tap Trim edge first.

5. Tap OFF.

Once set, please attempt to print.

If you are printing borderlessly, the TM-305 will cut the strip regardless of the "Trim edge first" setting.

Also, please make sure that the lead edge is set to 3mm.

To do this, please follow these steps:

1. Tap the gear icon at the bottom of the display on your printer.

2. Tap Device settings.

3. Tap Paper related settings.

4. Tap Advanced paper settings.

5. Choose the type of paper that is loaded in the printer.

6. Select Lead Edge Margin (roll).

7. Select 3mm.

If 3mm was already selected, please select Reset Paper Settings by Paper type and then attempt to print again.