cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

imageCLASS MF644Cdw Airprint name keeps changing

fcrwx
Apprentice

I have a MF644C and about every week or so the Airprint name changes. This prevents me from printing via my Macbook Pro until I delete and re-add the printer. Under "Settings/Registration: Preferences: Network Settings > AirPrint Settings" I originally set the Printer Name to "Canon MF644C", then it suddenly changed to "Canon MF644C (dd:ed:b5)" and most recently changed to "Canon MF644C (dd:ed:b5) (dd:ed:b5) (7)". I really don't care what the name is, but why does it keep changing?

86 REPLIES 86

Stephen,

I am a tech (and have been for 25+ years). The printer has been configured with a fixed IP address for many years now and it *still* changes its mDNS name on its own, even when alone on the network. I have documented it to Canon back when I posted this thread and they accepted the bug but just NEVER FIXED IT.

Again, you referred to two manual pages that are *not* describing the phenomenon and today there is no other fix than changing the mDNS name back, just like this contributor did via a Python program.

The very least that Canon can do should be to described it as a known issue, but they don't, which is plain and simple dishonest. And you are not helping by suggesting that it is a configuration issue because many users will read your reply and just waste time trying to fix it thinking they did something wrong. They did not. Canon did.

It talks about it but not exactly.  It states that if we change the name of the printer, it affects DNS and mDNS.  That is not the problem.  The Canon system appears to be **changing the name of the printer on its own** on a regular basis, and we have to use that process to change it back so the printer will work.

It changes the name because the original/previous name is still advertised somewhere on the network instead requesting for the same name