cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RAW or CR2 image for use in HDR image for 3D animation class

CrystalDawn
Apprentice

Hi,

I'm a complete newb and a 3D animation student.  I'm trying to find out what I need to do to upload the RAW or CR2 images from my Canon digital camera into my computer and NOT .jpg.  Apparently I need (2) RAW images to create a merge into an HDR image that I need to use in my 3ds Max program scene to provide the results I need to meet my class criteria.

My professor didn't know how to do this either, but I'm still required to create the HDR image somehow LOL and I don't even know how to create a RAW image.

Hopefully someone here can help me to understand how to extract the CR2 / RAW images without having them change into .jpg.  Every time I import them from the camera the images are turned into .jpg and I don't see any choice of having them be imported as RAW / CR2.

Also - what is the best kind of Canon camera for creating panoramic and close-up?  Is there one that can do both?

Thanks so much and hope one or more of you can help here 🙂

Sincerely,

Crystal Dawn

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

1. What type of camera are you using?

2. What type of computer are you using?

In order to download RAW files, your camera must be set to save images as RAW.  There are a couple of different ways to get images out of a camera: card reader, USB cable, and some cameras offer wireless transfer.

A card reader is the most reliable method because it relies the least on application software to download the photos.  Transferring via USB cable is the method that I prefer, because the Canon software can automatically place files where I want them to go.  Wireless transfers are really intended for sharing photos, which usually means you can only transfer JPEGs.