cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon R7 Weird image distortion during focus bracketing

MarkSturtevant
Contributor

I am renting the Canon R7 to maybe buy. I have a lot of experience with hand-held focus bracketing for macrophotography. But with this R7 body, the images become slightly skewed back and forth in alternate pictures, so rendering a stack is impossible. Here are the settings:

R7 body, Canon 100mm f/2.8L with Raynox 250 diopter. The lens Image stabilization is turned OFF. The camera body stabilization is ON.  f/5.6, 1/25 sec, ISO 100, LED continuous lighting, FOCUS BRACKETING: 20 frames, increment 5, electronic shutter, Exposure smoothing ON, Depth composite OFF (I stack in Zerene Stacker). 

A similar problem was reported on a different forum from an Olympus camera. The feeling there was that electronic shutter was giving a rolling shutter effect, and the problem could not be resolved. I'm not sure about that explanation though. I am suspicious of the camera body image stabilization, but it's weird that this problem has not been widely reported that I've seen. I have a gif animation to show here, but I can't seem to get it to run. Here is the gif anyway if anyone wants to extract it and play it. Unfortunately the rental is supposed to go back tomorrow, so I will soon be limited in what I can actually try. Crab in R7.gif

8 REPLIES 8

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Let’s try a test.  Remove the Raynox and use a tripod.  Disable Lens/Image Stabilization.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

MarkSturtevant
Contributor

Thank you for your quick reply! I will do that plus some other tests today. 

MarkSturtevant
Contributor